Valiathan, Panikkar, Raghava Warrier get Kairali lifetime achievement awards

February 12, 2021 08:19 pm | Updated February 13, 2021 12:12 am IST - THIRUVANANTHAPURAM

Renowned cardiologist M.S. Valiathan and noted historians K.N. Panikkar and M.R. Raghava Warrier have been selected for the second Kairali Awards instituted by the State government for lifelong contributions to research.

They have been selected for the Kairali Global Lifetime Achievement Prize for Researchers in the respective fields of science, social science, arts, and humanities, a statement by Higher Education Minister K.T. Jaleel has said. The award carries a cash prize of ₹5 lakh and a citation.

Linguist Scaria Zacharia, Mahatma Gandhi University Vice Chancellor Sabu Thomas, and historian P. Sanal Mohan have been adjudicated the winners of the Kairali Lifetime Achievement Award in the respective disciplines of arts and humanities, science and social science. It carries a cash prize of ₹2.5 lakh and a citation.

The winners were identified by a jury, chaired by former Director of Indian Institute of Sciences, Bengaluru, constituted by the Kerala State Higher Education Council.

The Kairali Gaveshaka Puraskaram for post-doctoral research in interdisciplinary fields have gone to Sucheta Sankar V. (arts and humanities), Sreelekshmi S. (biological sciences), Jabeena Fathima M.J. (chemical science), and Anshida Mayeen (physical science). The recipients, who have been undertaking research in various universities, will receive a cash prize of ₹25,000, citation, research grant of ₹4 lakh for two years, and travel grant of ₹75,000.

The Kairali Gaveshana Puraskaram for teachers undertaking research will go to R. Santhosh Manicheri, Assistant Professor, Government Brennen College, Thalassery (arts and humanities); Suboj Babykutty, Assistant Professor, Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram (biological science); Franklin J., Assistant Professor, Sacred Heart College, Kochi (chemical science); Madhu S. Nair, Associate Professor, CUSAT (physical science) and Devi Soumyaja, Assistant Professor, CUSAT (social science).

They will receive a cash prize of ₹1 lakh, citation, research grant up to ₹24 lakh for two years.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.