Qatar World Cup 2022All eyes on Messi and Argentina as Round of 16 qualification beckons

Mass resignation of IUML leaders in Koothuparamba; national leadership likely to intervene

Following a difference of opinion at State, district level

September 19, 2022 10:31 pm | Updated 10:31 pm IST - KANNUR

Efforts to settle the simmering feud in the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) in the Koothuparamba constituency following a difference of opinion between State and district leaderships have failed.

It is learnt that the national leadership may intervene as efforts by party State president Sadiq Ali Shihab Thangal and P.K. Kunhalikutty to prevail upon those who resigned from the Koothuparamba Mandalam committee failed.

Those who resigned from the party include Koothuparamba constituency president Pottankandi Abdullah, vice presidents P.P.A. Salam and Kattoor Mahmood, general secretary P.K. Shahul Hameed, secretaries T.K. Haneefa and C.P. Rafique, and district committee member and Panur Municipal Chairman V. Nasar.

In Irikkur constituency, the feud was relevant, where five party activists were removed by the constituency committee.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.