LDF wins Thillankeri division

January 22, 2021 01:48 pm | Updated 02:56 pm IST - Kannur

The LDF continue their winning streak by defeating the UDF candidate in the elections held in Thillankeri division of the district panchayat, on Friday

Elections here had to be postponed following the death of an earlier UDF candidate Georgekutti Irumbukuzhi.

LDF candidate and CPI (M) district committee member Benoy Kurian won with a majority of 6980 votes. He defeated Linta James of the UDF.

A total of 64.45 % voters had cast their votes in the election. Off the total 32356 votes polled, Mr. Kurian received 18687 votes, while Ms. James managed to garner 11707 votes, followed by K. Jayaprakash of BJP, who got 1333 votes.

Thillankeri is currently the sitting seat of the UDF and the defeat is huge setback for the front which was expecting a win here by contesting Ms. James.

The LDF took the lead in all the panchayats. This is the first time the LDF has taken the lead in Ayyankunnu panchayath, a UDF-influenced area.

With this win, the total strength of LDF has gone up in the district panchayat to 17 out of 24 seats.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.