Yeddyurappa is Karnataka Opposition leader

Karnataka Leader of the Opposition B.S. Yeddyurappa speaks in the Assembly on May 25, 2018.   | Photo Credit: V. Sreenivasa Murthy

Bharatiya Janata Party President B.S. Yeddyurappa is the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly.

The newly elected Speaker, K.R. Ramesh Kumar, made the announcement. The BJP has 104 members in the House.

Mr. Yeddyurappa was a member of the 16th Lok Sabha representing Shivamogga constituency, but resigned on May 19, 2018, since he had been elected as MLA. Unable to get a majority support in the Assembly, he resigned as the Chief Minister after two days.

Mr. Yeddyurappa is likely to continue as the State president of the BJP at least till 2019 general elections.

Senior BJP leader Govind Karjol is the the deputy Opposition leader, Mr. Kumar said.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 26, 2021 8:47:12 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/yeddyurappa-is-karnataka-opposition-leader/article23990239.ece

Next Story