Byelections to three Council seats on June 30

June 06, 2023 09:09 pm | Updated 09:09 pm IST - Bengaluru

The Election Commission of India has issued a notification for the conduct of the byelections to the three casual vacancies in the Legislative Council from the Legislative Assembly constituency, on June 30.

The three vacancies were created following the resignations of Baburao Chinchansur, R. Shankar and Laxman Savadi. All three resigned from the Council and contested the Legislative Assembly elections held last month.

While Mr. Chinchansur and Mr. Shankar lost the elections, Mr. Savadi won on the Congress ticket.

The notification said the last date for filing nomination is June 20, scrutiny of nominations will be done on June 21, and the last day for withdrawal is June 23.

The polling and counting of votes will be on the same day (June 30), it said.

The term of the seat vacated by Mr. Chinchansur ends on June 17, 2024, while the term of the seat vacated by Mr. Shankar ends on June 30, 2026. The term of the seat vacated by Mr. Savadi ends on June 14, 2028.

Congress sources said there were more than a dozen aspirants, including the former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar, for the three vacancies in the Legislative Council.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.