With creation of 13 new districts, AP now has 26 districts

January 26, 2022 11:50 am | Updated 11:50 am IST - VIJAYAWADA

The Andhra Pradesh (AP) government issued a preliminary notification for creation of 13 new revenue districts in exercise of its powers underSection.3 (5) of AP Districts (Formation) Act of1974on Wednesday.It called for submission of objections and suggestions from persons residing in those districts in writing within 30 days of this notification.

Once the final notificationis published, the total number of districts will go up to 26.As per a G.O. issuedby Chief Secretary Sameer Sharma, the formation of new districts is to facilitate better administration and development of the areas concerned by diminishing/altering the boundaries of the respectivedistricts/revenue divisions.The proposed districts and their headquarters given in brackets:

Manyam district (Parvatipuram)

Alluri Sitarama Raju district (Paderu)

Anakapalli (Anakapalli)

Kakinada (Kakinada)

Konaseema (Amalapuram)

Eluru (Eluru)

NTR district (Vijayawada)

Bapatla (Bapatla)

Palnadu (Narsaraopet)

Nandyal (Nandyal)

Sri Satyasai district (Puttaparthy)

Annamayya district (Rayachoty)

Sri Balaji district (Tirupati).Sri Balaji district will have Tirupati division from Chittoor district and Gudur and Naidupet divisions from Nellore district.Eluru district will have Eluru and Jangareddygudem divisions currently in West Godavari district, and Nuzvid division from Krishna district. NTR district will consist of Vijayawada, Nandigama, and Tiruvuru divisions, all from the existing Krishna district.Nandyal, Dhone, and Atmakur divisions will form the Nandyal district. Sri Satyasai district will have Puttaparthy, Penukonda, and Dharmavaram divisions from Anantapur.

Annamayya district will have Madanapalli division from Chittoor district and Rayachoti and Rajampet divisions from Kadapa district.Manyam district will have Palakonda and Parvatipuram revenue divisions carved out of Srikakulam and Vizianagaram districts respectively.Alluri Sitarama Raju district is going to have Paderu and Rampachodavaram divisions from Visakhapatnam and East Godavari districts.Anakapalli and Narsipatnam divisions, both from Visakhapatnam district, will constitute Anakapalli district. Kakinada district will have Kakinada and Peddapuram divisions from East Godavari (E.G) Amalapuram and Ramachandrapuram divisions in E.G will make the new Konaseema district.Bapatla district will have Chirala and Bapatla divisions from Prakasam and Guntur districts respectively. Palnadu district will comprise Gurazala and Narsaraopet divisions both from Guntur district.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.