Andhra Pradesh

Byelection: day of reckoning for TDP, YSRCP

Taking no chances: CRPF personnel at the counting centre in Nandyal on Sunday.   | Photo Credit: ; - U_SUBRAMANYAM

Notwithstanding their claims of emerging victorious with a comfortable margin in the Nandyal byelection, both the TDP and the SR Congress Party are keeping their fingers crossed as counting of 1,73,179 votes is slated at the Government Polytechnic in Nandyal on Monday morning.

Leaders of both the major political parties, who fiercely fought the election, have been claiming that they would win hands down, but are apprehensive at the record polling percentage of 79.13.

In all, 15 candidates contested the election, including Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy of the TDP, Silpa Mohan Reddy of the YSRCP, Gaddam Abdul Khader of the Congress, and Bhavanasi Pullaiah of Rayalaseema Parirakshana Samithi. A Kurnool-based journalist Abdul Sattar also contested as BC United Front candidate.

Out of a total of 1,73,179 votes polled, 1,05,484 votes were polled in Nandyal Urban followed by 41,512 votes in Nandyal Rural and 26,193 votes in Gospadu mandal.

The major parties are apprehensive that the independents could tilt the prospects if they split substantial votes.

Since the polling ended, functionaries of the political parties are engrossed in calculating the possible votes polled to their parties area-wise in the last four days.


Meanwhile, large-scale betting, running into a few hundred crores, was reported on the outcome of the byelection in Kurnool, Kadapa and neighbouring districts. The betting was mainly on the victory of the candidates with little emphasis on the winning margin, according to sources.

The large turnout of women voters would benefit the TDP, asserted Tourism Minister Bhuma Akhila Priya.

On the other hand, Mr. Mohan Reddy exuded confidence that he would win the byelection and asserted that the large voter turnout was indicative of anti-incumbency.

Minister for Agriculture Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy asserted at Kadapa that the TDP would win with a thumping majority. Minister for Marketing C. Adinarayana also claimed in Kadapa that the TDP would win and the outcome would lead to several changes and the YSRCP would go into oblivion.

District Collector S. Satyanarayana, Joint Collector and Returning Officer Prasanna Venkatesh and Superintendent of Police Gopinath Jatti inspected the arrangements made at the counting centre.

The police deployed CRPF and APSP personnel to guard the counting centre.

Prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the IPC and Section 30 of the Police Act would be in force in Nandyal town on Monday, and victory processions, drumbeats and bursting of crackers would not be permitted after declaration of the result, SP Gopinath Jatti said on Sunday. .

He announced closure of the roads from SBI Colony to Suddulapet, Nandyal II Town PS to Polytechnic, Padmavathinagar to Saraswathinagar and Suddulapet, Suddulapet to the revenue quarters and Saraswatinagar in view of counting of votes.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 6, 2021 12:41:28 AM |

Next Story