Activists, intellectuals condemn arrests of Varavara Rao, Navlakha, Gonsalves, Bhardwaj

Activists and public intellectuals have released a statement condemning the arrests of Dalit and human rights activists across India.

Here is the full statement:

We, the undersigned, are shocked by the serial raids across the country on the homes of activists and public intellectuals who are critical of the government and the ruling party at the Centre. The arrests of prominent activists and intellectuals Sudha Bharadwaj, Vernon Gonsalves, Gautam Navlakha, Varavara Rao, Arun Ferreira, Kranthi Tekula and others, are nothing but an attempt by the government to strike terror among those who are fighting for justice for the marginalised. This is also an attempt by the BJP to invent a false enemy and engage in scaremongering in order to polarise the 2019 elections in its favour. Already, the government and the media houses close to the BJP have been trying to spin a false narrative of a Maoist conspiracy since June, 2018. Terms like “urban naxals” are invented in order to stifle any criticism of the government. We have learnt that the Delhi Police, after having arrested Sudha Bharadwaj, waited for Republic TV to arrive before taking her to the court. This simply shows that the arrests are incomplete without the accompanying sensationalist media propaganda to demonise activists, human rights defenders and intellectuals.The so-called raids carried out on the houses of these activists are aimed at creating a spectacle, as the writings and views of these intellectuals are already publicly known and are well documented. This seems like a conspiracy to divert attention from the gravity of the Sanatan Sanstha conspiracy to carry out serial bomb attacks on Eid and Ganesh Chaturthi! The same Sanatan Sanstha was also involved in the murder of Gauri Lankesh, as per the ongoing investigations by Karnataka police. Today’s arrests have been carried out in order to give cover to the murderers of Gauri Lankesh. People like Sudha Bharadwaj, Gautam Navlakha and others who have been arrested are friends of the people who have dedicated their entire lives to the betterment of the Indian public. By arresting them, the BJP is only exposing its insecurities and its intolerance to any dissent or criticism of its policies.

The arrests should be seen in continuation with the recent attacks on pro-justice voices such as Swami Agnivesh, Umar Khalid and many other student activists from Delhi to Lucknow. A BJP lawmaker from Karnataka even advocated the murder of “intellectuals.” Both the arrests and the physical attacks on justice loving people must be seen in a series of attempts to stifle dissent and deny social justice.

We demand immediate release of the arrested individuals, dropping of all false and malicious charges, as these arrests are politically motivated and unjustified.

Shehla Rashid Shora, former Vice-President, JNU Students’ Union.

Mohit Pandey, former President, JNU Students’ Union.

Farhad Ahmad, former General Secreatry TISS Students’ Union, Mumbai.

Admiral Ramdas, Former Chief of Naval Staff.

Lalita Ramdas, Activist.

Shabnam Hashmi, Social Activist.

Paranjoy Guha Thakurta, Author, Journalist, Publisher.

Swara Bhaskar, Actress.

Neha Dixit, Journalist.

Jignesh Mevani, MLA Vadgam, Gujarat.

Sanam Sutirath Wazir, Human Rights Activist.

Nakul Singh Sawhney, Documentary Filmmaker.

Teesta Setalvad, Journalist and Social Activist.

Harish Iyer, Equal Rights Activist.

Swami Agnivesh, Arya Samaj, Social Activist.

Nirjhari Sinha, Activist.

Chayanika Shah, Queer Feminist Activist.

Richa Jairaj, Women’s Rights Activist.

Rituparna, Queer Feminist Activist, Delhi.

Maya Krishna Rao, Theatre Artist.

Bittu, WSS.

Maneka Khanna, Lawyer.

Payoshi Roy, Lawyer.

Surbhi Dhar, Lawyer.

Zeba Sikora, Lawyer.

Bindulakshmi Pattadath, Faculty, TISS Mumbai.

Vineeta Bal, Retired Researcher.

Svati Joshi, Academic and Activist.

Rohit Samuel Shah, Doctoral Scholar, IITB-Monash.

Panchali Ray, Assisstant Professor, Jadavpur University.

Shraddha, Junior Research Fellow, MPI for Innovation and Competition.

Ravi Duggal, Independent Health Researcher and Activist.

Sohini, Jan Jagran Shakti Sangathan, Bihar.

Swatija Manorama, Social Activist.

Suhas Paranjape, Retired Researcher.

Jashodhara Sengupta, Human Rights Activist.

Rupesh Kumar Singh, Freelance Journalist.

Inayat Singh, Jan Swasthya Abhiyan, Punjab.

Beni Madhab Sen, Delhi.

Zubeda, Student.

Dr. Sona Deshmukh, Research Coordinator, Pune.

Vasantha, Activist.

Abhay Shukla, Jan Swasthya Abhiyan.

Balmurli Natrajan, Professor.

Vijaya Kumar Seethapha, Film maker/ activist. Karnataka Janaarogya Chaluvali.

Meera Sanghmitra, NAPM.

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 3, 2020 8:29:04 PM |

Next Story