Sudhakar Reddy is CPI general secretary again

Gurudas Dasgupta elected deputy general secretary; party's 22nd national congress also elected a 31-member national executive and a 124-member national council

Updated - November 16, 2021 05:11 pm IST

Published - March 30, 2015 04:04 am IST - PUDUCHERRY

S. Sudhakar Reddy

S. Sudhakar Reddy

S. Sudhakar Reddy was re-elected general secretary of the Communist Party of India (CPI) at its 22nd national congress that concluded in Puducherry on Sunday. Gurudas Dasgupta was elected deputy general secretary.

The members of the central secretariat are Mr. Reddy, Mr. Dasgupta, D. Raja, MP, Shameem Faizee, Amarjeet Kaur, Atul Kumar Anjaan, Ramendrakumar, Pannian Ravindran, and K. Narayana from Andhra Pradesh. The congress also elected a 31-member national executive and a 124-member national council.

Mr. Reddy told reporters that the CPI had decided to re-establish the independent image of the Communist party as the champion of the poor by organising various struggles. “We want Left unity to defend secularism, democracy and independence and the freedom of speech.”

He said the party will observe May 14 as an all-India protest day, when party workers would stage a demonstration against the Land Acquisition Amendment Bill.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.