G.D. Birla Award for IIT-Kanpur professor


The twenty-fifth G. D. Birla Award for Scientific Research for 2015 has been awarded to Prof. Sanjay Mittal from the Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur.

Prof. Mittal’s significant contributions have been in the area of Bluff Body Flows — flows past blunt bodies associated with large unsteady separation and leading to large fluid forces. He was instrumental in establishing the High Performance Computing (HPC) facility at IIT Kanpur and heads the National Wind Tunnel Facility.

Prof. Mittal also works in the area of sports aerodynamics and his group was able to bring out the aerodynamic difference between a duck-feather and synthetic shuttle cock. They have also been looking at the aerodynamics of the swing and reverse-swing of a cricket ball.

The G.D.Birla Award was instituted in 1991 by the K.K.Birla Foundation.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics National
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 21, 2020 9:00:57 PM |

Next Story