Julia Gillard sworn in as Australia's PM

A jubilant Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard, second left, lines up with her Workplace Relations Minister Chris Evans, left, Governor General Quentin Bryce, in pink, and Treasurer Wayne Swan, right, after the swearing in ceremony at Government House Canberra, on Tuesday. Photo: AP.  

Australia’s incumbent Prime Minister Julia Gillard, who is the first woman to hold the position, was on Tuesday sworn in along with her 19 cabinet ministers in Canberra.

Ms. Gillard, who was accompanied by her partner Tim Mathieson, signed a document and swore allegiance to Britain’s queen. She was also joined by her 19 newly—appointed cabinet ministers, 10 ministers and 12 parliamentary secretaries, The Age newspaper reported.

The new cabinet includes Defence Minister Stephen Smith, Treasurer Wayne Swan and Foreign Minister Kevin Rudd, whom Ms. Gillard dislodged as Labour chief.

Ms. Gillard toppled former prime minister Mr. Rudd in June this year. She then led the ruling Labour into the August 21 general elections.

Ms. Gillard announced the new cabinet on Saturday, four days after her Labour Party secured the support of two independent MPs to form a minority government in the country’s first hung parliament in 70 years.

The independent MPs’ support helped Ms. Gillard reach the magic figure of 76 in the 150—member House of Representatives.

The opposition Coalition led by Tony Abbott has 73 seats.

Mr. Abbott said that former Liberal leader Malcolm Turnbull has been appointed to the shadow cabinet.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 22, 2022 12:21:31 AM |

Next Story