3 UNP leaders made Ministers in Sri Lanka

August 25, 2015 04:52 am | Updated November 16, 2021 04:28 pm IST - COLOMBO

Three senior leaders of Sri Lanka’s United National Party (UNP) were made Ministers at a low-key event held here on Monday.

The three leaders – Mangala Samaraweera (Foreign Affairs), Wijedasa Rajapaksha (Justice) and D.M. Swaminathan (Resettlement) – retained the portfolios which they held at the time of the parliamentary elections.

They took oath before President Maithripala Sirisena at the President’s office here. 

According to sources, the swearing in of some more Ministers is expected on Tuesday. 

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.