List of Ministers in Mamata's cabinet

May 27, 2016 01:20 pm | Updated May 28, 2016 09:46 am IST

The newly-inducted West Bengal government headed by Mamata Banerjee has 41 ministers, including 17 new faces. Among them, five are Ministers of State holding independent charge, and eight are junior ministers.

Here is the list of council of ministers

Mamata Banerjee

The Chief Minister will also handle Home, Hill Affairs, Personnel and Administrative Reforms, Land & Land Reforms, Information & Cultural Reforms, Minorities Affairs and Madrasah Education, Health and Family Welfare, Micro and Small Scale Enterprises portfolios.

Amit Mitra

Minister of Excise, Finance, Commerce & Industries, Industrial Reconstruction, Public Enterprise

The economist-turned-politician was the Finance Minister in first sticnt of Trinamool government He is the incumbent MLA in the West Bengal Assembly from the Khardaha constituency.

Partha Chatterjee

Minister of School Education, Higher Education, Parliamentary Affairs

Elected from Behala Paschim, Mr. Chatterjee held various portfolios such as commerce and industry, public enterprises, information technology and parliamentary affairs.

Subrata Mukherjee

Minister of Panchayat & Rural Development, Public Health Engineering

The former minister of health and Panchayat was elected from Ballygunge constituency.

Sovandeb Chatterjee

Minister of Power & Non-Conventional Energy Sources

The MLA from Rashberi is a first-time minister.

Suvendu Adhikari

Minister of Transport

He represents Tamluk and is a first-time minister.

Goutam Deb

Minister of Tourism

He was in-charge of North Bengal Development in the previous term and represents Dabgram-Phulbari constituency.

Abani Joardar

Minister of Correctional Administration, Refugee Relief & Rehabilitation

This Krishna Nagar Uttar MLA is a first-time minister.

Bratya Basu

Minister of Information Technology & Electronics

This Dum Dum MLA was handling the education portfolio and later tourism in the last government.

Sovan Chatterjee

Minister of Fire & Engineering, Housing, Environment

He is the Mayor of Kolkata. He was elected from Behala Purba constituency.

Abdur Rezzak Mollah

Minister of Food Procurement and Horticulture

This former CPI(M) leader joined Trinamool Congress months before the elections. He won from Bhangar.

Jyotipriyo Mullick

Minister of Food & Supplies

This is the second term for Mullick who represents Habra.

Firhad Hakim

Minister of Urban Development and Municipal Affairs

He represents Manbazar in the Assembly.

Arup Biswas

Minister of PWD, Youth Affairs, Sports

The former minister for Youth Affairs and Housing won in Tollygunge constituency.

Javed Khan

Minister of Disaster Management

He was the former Minister for Disaster Management and is from Kasba constituency.

Moloy Ghatak

Minister of Labour, Law & Judicial Services

Earlier the Minister for Labour and ESI Department, he was elected from Asanol North constituency.

Purnendu Basu

Minister of Agriculture

This former Labour Minister won from Rajarhat-Gopalpur constituency.

Arup Roy

Minister of Co-operation

The Howrah Central MLA was previously the minister for Agricultural Marketing

Rajib Banerjee

Minister of Irrigation and Waterways

This former Irrigation Minister represents Domjur constituency.

Chandranath Sinha

Minister of Fisheries

This former minister for fisheries was elected from Bolpur constituency.

Tapan Dasgupta

Minister of Agriculture Marketing

He was elected from Saptagram constituency.

Soumen Mahapatra

Minister of Water Resources

The Pingala MLA earlier held the Water Resources Investigation & Development portfolio.

James Kujur

Minister of Tribal Development

He was elected from Kumargram constituency.

Binay Barman

Minister of Forest

He got elected from Mathabhanga and is a new minister.

Rabindranath Ghosh

Minister of North Bengal Development

Another new minister, he represents Natabari.

Sadhan Pande

Minister of Self Help Groups, Consumer Affairs

This former Minister for Consumer Affairs & Self Help Group & Self-Employment won from Maniktala constituency.

Santiram Mahato

Minister of Paschimanchal Unnayan

This new minister is from Gopiballavpur constituency.

Churamani Mahato

Minister of Backward Classes Welfare

He is an MLA from Kumargram constituency.

Ashish Banerjee

Minister of Biotechnology, Statistics & Programme Implementation

This former Health Minister now represents Rampurhat constituency.

Minister of State (Independent Charge)

Shashi Panja

Minister of Women Development & Social Welfare, Child Development, MoS – Health and Family Welfare

She was a former Minister of State and had independent charge of the women & child welfare ministry. She represents Shyampukur constituency.

Siddiquallah Chowdhury

Minister of Mass Education, Library, MoS -Parliamentary Affairs

He represents Mangalkote in the Assembly.

Ashima Patra

Minister of Technical Education

He represents Dhanikhali in the Assembly.

Manturam Pakhira

Minister of Sunderbans Development

Elected from Kakdwip, he was a junior minister in-charge of Sunderbans Development.

Swapan Debnath

Minister of MSME, Land & Land Reforms

He is former Minister for Micro and Small Scale Enterprises and Textile from Purbasthali South constituency.

Minister of State

Bachhu Hansda

Minister of State for North Bengal Development

He represents Tapan in the Assembly.

Ghulam Rabbani

Minister of State for Tourism

He represents Goalpokhar in the Assembly.

Zakir Hossain

Minister of State for Labour

He represents Jangipur in the Assembly.

Laxmi Ratan Shukla

Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports

Elected from Howrah North, all-rounder Shukla recently retired from all forms of cricket.

Indranil Sen

Minister of State for Information & Cultural Affairs

He represents Jangipur in the Assembly.

Shyamal Santra

Minister of State for Panchayat & Rural Development, PHE

He represents Kotulpur constituency.

Sandharani Tudu

Minister of Backward Classes Welfare

An MLA representing Chandannagar in the Assembly.

Giasuddin Mollah

Minister of Minority Affairs and Madrasah Education

The former Minority Affairs minister was elected from Magrahat constituency.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.