PM Modi to open Chennai Metro’s last stretch on Sunday

The AG-DMS to Washermanpet line is ready

Updated - February 07, 2019 11:00 am IST

Published - February 06, 2019 07:15 pm IST - Chennai

Final touches:  When the stretch between AG-DMS and Washermanpet opens, all 45 km of the phase I project of Metro Rail will be operational.

Final touches: When the stretch between AG-DMS and Washermanpet opens, all 45 km of the phase I project of Metro Rail will be operational.

Finally, after years of waiting, commuters can travel through the entire 45 km of Chennai Metro Rail, with the opening of 10 km stretch from AG-DMS to Washermanpet on February 10. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswamy will be inaugurating this stretch from Tiruppur.

Highly placed sources told The Hindu, Prime Minister Modi who will be in Tiruppur on Sunday, will launch this final stretch in Chennai, through video conference. “Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Housing And Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri and Minister for Industries M.C. Sampath are likely to be present for the inauguration ceremony in the city at Chennai Central Metro Rail station,” a source said.

The construction of Chennai Metro Rail’s phase I project built at a cost of ₹14,600 crore has been on for nearly seven years now; this final 10 km stretch from AG-DMS to Washermanpet will be entirely underground and have stations at Washermanpet, Mannady, Madras High Court, Chennai Central, Government Estate, LIC, Thousand Lights and AG-DMS. This stretch received the final safety approval from Commissoner of Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) only in the last week of January.

Now that this stretch is open, commuters can directly take a ride from Washermanpet to Chennai airport, a distance of nearly 21 km in about 45 minutes. This will also provide commuters from north Chennai, connectivity with other transport hubs like Chennai Central, Chennai Egmore and CMBT, and allows them to switch from Chennai Metro to other modes of transport like bus, suburban or MRTS.

Since 2015, the 45 km network has been opened in six stretches, with the first one being Koyambedu to Alandur (June 2015), Little Mount to Chennai airport (September 2016), Alandur to St. Thomas Mount (October 2016), Koyambedu to Nehru Park (May 2017), Nehru Park to Chennai Central (May 2018) and Little Mount to AG-DMS (May 2018).

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.