Five Central institutes to start functioning from this year

Prof. G. Rajsekhar of IISER-Pune, one of the mentors of the seven Central institutions, speaking at a review meeting chaired by HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao (not in picture) in Visakhapatnam on Friday. —Photo: K.R. Deepak  

Five out of the seven Central institutions allocated to the Navya Andhra Pradesh by the Central Government will start functioning from this academic year, HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao has said.

Reviewing the status of the institutions with the district officials and representatives from the mentor institutions, the Minister said that IIM –Visakhapatnam would commence functioning from September 14, IIT – Tirupati from August 5, IISER-Tirupati from August 10, IIIT-Kurnool from July 28, and NIT-Tadepalligudem from mid-September.

Final approval for the remaining two institutions — Tribal University and Central University — was still pending, he said.

IIT-Tirupati, which is being mentored by IIT-Chennai, will operate temporarily from one of the campuses of the Krishna Teja Group of Educational Institutions in Tirupati and later move into its own campus coming up on 563 acres allotted by the State government at Merlapakka village close to the temple town. To begin with, it will offer four engineering courses — civil, CSE, electrical, and mechanical — and have an initial intake of 30 per course.

IISER- Tirupati, mentored by IISER-Pune, will have an intake of 75 and offer five-year M.Sc integrated programme initially.

It will temporarily operate from Sree Rama Engineering College in Tirupati and later move to its campus coming up on 244 acres close to the temple town.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao told The Hindu that IIM-Visakhapatnam, mentored by IIM-Bangalore, would have an initial intake of 60. It would commence with IIM-Bangalore’s flagship two-year programme PGP (postgraduate programme) in Management. It would operate from Andhra University temporarily.

“We have already allotted 240 acres at Gambheeram and another 120 acres is kept in reserve for the institution. Construction of the boundary wall will commence soon,” he said. IIIT-Kurnool has been allotted 124 acres and it will be mentored by IIIT- (Design and Manufacturing), Kancheepuram. It will have an intake of 50 students. It will offer two courses — B.Tech CSE and ECE.

Initially, it will operate from the Kancheepuram campus.

The Minister said that the Kurnool institution would also have the ‘Design and Manufacturing’ tag.

NIT- Tadepalligudem will have an intake of 480 and operate from CR Reddy Engineering College in Eluru.

Principal Secretary, Higher Education, Sumita Dawra, APSCHE Chairman Venugopal Reddy, and District Collector N. Yuvaraj were among other officials present.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 13, 2021 10:22:55 AM |

Next Story