SRM-AP establishes research council

To further the cause of research into subjects that are relevant nation-wide such as energy conservation and sustainability, the Amaravati campus of SRM University established a University Research Council, on Wednesday.

Founder and president of the Amaravati university board P. Sathyanarayanan, presided over the meeting. The council comprises K. Satyanarayana - Director, IIT Tirupati, U.B. Desai - Director, IIT Hyderabad, P. Appa Rao - Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad, Gautam R. Desiraju - IISc, Bangalore, S.R. Rao – former Senior Adviser, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, B.S. Murthy - IIT Madras, Chennai, Padmanabham - Director, ARCI, Hyderabad, B.V.R. Chowdari - Senior Executive Director, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore and D. Narayana Rao - Pro-Vice Chancellor, SRM University – AP, Amaravati.

Chairman of the Research Council, V. K. Saraswat – Member of NITI Aayog, addressed the members through a video call and said there was a need to take up research activities.

Members of the council, through individual presentations, shared their views with the faculty.

Later, Mr. Sathyanarayanan felicitated members of the Council. Vice-Chancellor of SRM University, Amaravati campus, Jamshed Bharucha, Managing Director of SRM Trust Maniyannan, vice-president Janakiraman and Registrar D. Gunasekaran were present.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | Mar 29, 2020 5:51:18 PM |

Next Story