Many MLAs in the race for berths in Jagan’s Cabinet

Botcha and Dharmana are considered to be sure bets

May 25, 2019 12:26 am | Updated 12:26 am IST - VIZIANAGARAM/SRIKAKULAM

Many MLAs are expecting Cabinets berths from Vizianagaram and Srikakulam districts.

Former Minister Botcha Satyanarayana, who won from Cheepurupalli of Vizianagaram district, and former Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao, who got elected from Srikakulam Assembly constituency, are expected to be taken into the Cabinet without any doubt, according to sources in the party. Both leaders ensured massive victory for the YSRCP in the two districts while winning in their own constituencies.

Mr. Satyanarayana who had been loyal to former Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy could not join YSRCP before 2014 election as he continued to be the PCC president and Minister in N. Kirankumar Reddy’s government. However, he joined the YSRCP after 2014 election and turned the district as a bastion for the party. The party won all nine Assembly segments and ensured defeat of former Union Minister P.Ashok Gajapathi Raju who contested from Vizianagaram Lok Sabha seat. Former ZP chairperson Bellana Chandra Sekhar defeated Mr.Raju with a margin of 43,167 votes.

Vizianagaram MLA Kolagatla Veerabhadra Swamy’s loyalists are anticipating ministerial berth to him as he defeated Aditi Gajapathi Raju, daughter of Mr.Ashok Gajapathi Raju, in Vizianagaram which had been a bastion of the TDP for the last 30 years. Mr.Veerabhadra Rao won the seat as an Independent in 2004 election by defeating Mr.Ashok Gajapathi Raju. Except in 2004 and 2019, TDP retained the seat. Bobbili MLA Sambangi China Venkata Appala Naidu, who defeated former minister Sujay Krishna Ranga Rao, may also in the fray for the coveted post. Earlier, he represented Bobbili seat on TDP ticket. Saluru MLA P.Rajanna Dora and Kurupam MLA Pamula Sri Pushapavani who also won the seats in 2014 are also expecting Cabinet berths. Both of them won the seats with comfortable margins from two constituencies reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

As far as Srikakulam district is concerned, Mr. Prasada Rao is expected to be given a prime portfolio as he had 30 years of experience in administration too. He was made Minister for Textiles, Sports and Water Resources in 1989 in the ministry of Nedurumalli Janardhana Reddy. He held Revenue, Roads and Buildings in the Cabinets of Mr. Rajasekhar Reddy and Mr. Kiran Kumar Reddy.

Former Minister Tammineni Sitaram who got elected from Amadalavalasa is also in the race for the Cabinet post, according to sources. He worked as a minister both in NT Rama Rao and Chandrababu Naidu governments. He lost elections in 2004 and 2009 on TDP ticket and joined YSRCP. However, he was defeated in 2014 election but won the seat after a gap of 15 years. Palakonda (Reserved for STs) MLA V.Kalavati and Rajam (Reserved for SCs) MLA Kamabla Jogulu are also anticipating elevation as both of them got elected to Assembly in 2014 and 2019. Although many MLAs of YSRCP joined the TDP, both leaders remained in the party. Narasannapeta MLA Dharmana Krishna Das and Patapatnam MLA Reddi Santi are hopeful to get berths in the new Cabinet. YSRCP leaders feel that at least two leaders from the district would be given chance in Jagan’s Cabinet.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.