Andhra Pradesh RTC union to strike work from Monday

The A.P. State Road Transport Corporation (APSRTC) Employees’ Union on Wednesday a gave strike notice to the Executive Directors of the corporation’s four zones - Vijayawada, Vizianagaram, Nellore, and Kadapa, as part of its decision to join the ongoing agitation for a united State.

Union’s zonal secretary Y.V. Rao said nearly 70,000 RTC employees in 123 depots and four non-operational units would take part in the proposed strike from the midnight of August 12 (Monday).

The union leaders, along with members of the APNGOs’ Joint Action Committee, gave the strike notice to RTC’s Executive Director for Vijayawada zone R. Nagaraju. Mr. Rao said a decision to this effect was taken at a meeting of the RTC Employees’ Union in the Seemandhra region held at Ongole on August 6.

The meeting constituted an APSRTC Employees’ Union Samaikhyandhra Porata Committee with Ch. Chandrasekhara Reddy of Kadapa as its chairman and Mr. Y.V. Rao of Vijayawada as co-convener.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 20, 2020 11:38:48 PM |

Next Story