BJP polls more votes than AAP’s ministers

The Bharatiya Janata Party polled more votes in the Lok Sabha elections in former Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s New Delhi constituency as it did in the constituencies of each of his Cabinet ministers. The BJP polled the most votes in Shakur Basti, Madipur, Mangolpuri (SC), Patparganj, Malviya Nagar and Greater Kailash, which are all represented by former Aam Aadmi Party ministers in the Delhi Assembly.

Friday’s results of the April 10 Lok Sabha polls revealed that in the constituency where Mr. Kejriwal made history by defeating former CM Sheila Dikshit in the Delhi Assembly elections, the BJP’s Meenakshi Lekhi raked in 12,590 more votes when compared to the AAP’s Ashish Khetan.

More votes landed in the BJP’s kitty in Patparganj, too, which is former Education Minister Manish Sisodia’s constituency as it did in former Health Minister Satyender Jain’s constituency of Shakur Basti and former Labour Minister Girish Soni’s Madipur.

In Malviya Nagar represented by former Law Minister Somnath Bharti, the AAP lost by 6,000 votes compared to the Assembly elections, while the BJP gained nearly 19,000. Middle-class voters migrated from the AAP to the BJP in Greater Kailash, which is former Transport Minister Saurabh Bharadwaj’s constituency, with the BJP getting as much as 25,000 more votes as compared to last year. It was only in Mangolpuri (SC), the constituency of Rakhi Birla, who served as the Woman and Child Development Minister during the AAP Government’s tenure, that the margin between the BJP and the AAP votes was relatively smaller.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 1, 2021 1:06:40 AM |

Next Story