B. C. Roy honour for doctors

Dr. Randeep Guleria   | Photo Credit: Sandeep Saxena

All India Institute of Medical Sciences director Randeep Guleria, besides eight other faculty members from the institute, and two doctors from Sir Ganga Ram Hospital were on Tuesday awarded the prestigious Dr. B. C. Roy Award for excellence in the field of medicine.

They received the honour from President Pranab Mukherjee at a function held the Rashtrapati Bhawan here. The awards were announced last October.

“Dr. Guleria, Head of Orthopaedic Department Rajesh Malhotra, Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology J. B. Sharma and Professor in Orthopaedic Department C. S. Yadav, Head of Urology Department P. N. Dogra, Professor in Urology Department Amlesh Seth, Professor in Cardiology A.K. Bisoi,” are among the recipients of the award noted a release issued by AIIMS.

Feather in the cap

From the Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, the Chairman (Board of Management) & Department of Nephrology D. S. Rana and Chairman of Department of Chest & Thoracic Surgery Arvind Kumar received the honour.

Dr. Ashwani Kumar, Director Professor and Head of Microbiology at the University College of Medical Sciences, got the eminent Medical Teacher Award for 2014 for his involvement in academics.

Freedom fighter

The Bidhan Chandra Roy Award was instituted in 1976 in the memory of renowned physician and freedom fighter B. C. Roy.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 9, 2021 8:51:42 PM |

Next Story