Government sanctions two new taluks

With headquarters at Perur and Madukkarai

December 05, 2013 10:27 am | Updated 10:27 am IST - COIMBATORE:

Conceding the long-pending demand and in a bid to take service delivery mechanism closer to the people, the State Government has ordered creation of two new taluks with headquarters at Perur and Madukkarai.

A Government Order to this effect is based on the announcement by the Chief Minister on the floor of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly on May 15, 2013.

Coimbatore already had Valparai, Pollachi, Coimbatore North, Coimbatore South and Mettupalayam taluks. Recently, Sulur, Kinathukkadavu and Annur taluks were created. With this, the total number of taluks in the district have risen to 10 and number of revenue divisions - two.

As per the Census 2011, Coimbatore South has a population of 16 lakhs. According to the initial assessment, it was decided to create a new taluk with Perur as headquarters and the new taluk will be for a population of 3,23,866 people.

Even after the creation of this taluk, there would be an additional population of 12,81,403 people. Hence, it was decided to trifurcate Coimbatore South into three taluks. Coimbatore South is surrounded by Kerala border on one side, Sulur taluk on East, North taluk on the northern side and Kinathukkadavu on the southern side.

Now, it has been decided that Thondamuthur Panchayat Union areas, Alandurai, Pooluvapatti, Thenkarai, Vadavalli, Thondamuthur, Thaliyur, Perur, Vedapatti areas and Kuniamuthur revenue village in Corporation limits, and Veerakeralam in Coimbatore North taluk will form part of the Perur taluk. It will have a total of 25 revenue villages with a population of 3,93,350 people.

Madukkarai Panchayat Union areas, Madukkarai, Ettimadai, Thirumalayampalayam, Vellalore, Chettipalayam, Othakal Mandapam urban areas, and wards coming under Coimbatore Corporation in Kurichi area will form part of a new taluk with Madukkarai as taluk headquarters. The new taluk will have 17 revenue villages and a population of 3,43,763 people.

The administration has already begun the process for identifying the place for locating the taluk headquarters at Perur and Madukkarai.

Pollachi revenue division has Valparai, Pollachi, and Kinathukkadavu, while Coimbatore division has Coimbatore North, South, Sulur, Annur, and Mettupalayam.

With two more coming up, already demands are there for creation of one more revenue division, so that the number of taluks under each division is brought down to a minimum of three and maximum of four.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.