In memory of Sri Sri

Vijayalakshmi and group performing in memory of Sri Sri.   | Photo Credit: arrangement

Srirangam Srinivasa Rao, well known as 'Sri Sri', was born on April 30, 1910, in a traditional Telugu Brahmin family from Visakhapatnam. He was the first popular modern Telugu poet and lyricist and utilised his literary movement to achieve social justice.

Sri Sri's Sata jayanthi (centenary) festivities were celebrated at different places in the city recently. K.R.K.M. Memorial Academy held a function at Ravindra Bharati last Friday, attended by home minister Sabitha Indra Reddy, writer Ravuri Bharadwaja, freedom fighter and film director K.B.G. Tilak, dance guru Uma Rama Rao and others. Senior journalist A.B.K. Prasad presided. Prasad's research-oriented ground work helped in coming out with a CD that has relevant commentary on Sri Sri's literature, also elaborating on the influence of western poets in his work. The CD also has Sri Sri's voice. This served as a backdrop to the Kuchipudi dance drama presented by reputed dancer Koka Vijayalakshmi and group in interpreting judiciously chosen songs of Sri Sri.

Maro Prapancham from Maha Prasthanam, Edi Talli Nirudu Kurisina from Khadga Srushti, Mayantavu Anta Midhyantavu from Midhya Vaadi, Swapnalu Kalinginchi from Aasha Dootalu and Pillallara Pittallara from Saisava Geethi were performed by a group of children; Polalananni Halala Dunni on problems of rural farming, Edi Talli Nirudukurisina, Ye Desa Charitra Choosina, Sindhuram Rakta Chandanam, Anandam Arnavamaite, Nenu Saitam Prapachagniki and Jagannadha Radha Chakral written under different captions were elaborated.

Vijayalakshmi choreographed well all these dances. D.S.V. Sastry provided music score and vocal support. Dances were presented to a pre-recorded audio. Surabhi Jitendra's costume and lighting effects were praiseworthy. Halim, K.V. Subrahmanyam, Indira Ramakrishna, Radhika Reddi, Surabhi Swathi, Radhakrishna, Venkatesh and Narender were the main dancers.

Awards were given away by Sabita Indra Reddy to Rapolu Sudersan (first prize with cash award of Rs.10,000) Addanki Srinivas (second prize with cash award of Rs.5,000) for writing on the topic of the influence of Sri Sri's literature on present day literature. Similarly, Malleepuram Jagadeeswara Rao of Gummalakshmi puram of Vijayanagaram district and Bengaluru's Nanduri Venkata Srinivas received first and second prizes respectively with same cash awards, and were chosen for their impressive stories on ‘Telugu vaari Samajika Jeevanam' (the social life of Telugus). These were winners in a competition held earlier.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 18, 2021 10:58:02 AM |

Next Story