'Grey's Anatomy' renewed for Season 20, Meg Marinis to take over as showrunner

With this renewal, the series continues its run as the longest-running primetime medical drama in TV history

Published - March 25, 2023 04:36 pm IST

A still from ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ 

A still from ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ 

Popular medical drama "Grey's Anatomy" has been renewed for Season 20 at ABC.

With this renewal, the series continues its run as the longest-running primetime medical drama in TV history.

According to Variety, series executive producer Meg Marinis will serve as showrunner on Season 20. Marinis has taken over from Krista Vernoff, who was reported to be stepping down from "Grey's Anatomy" and its spinoff "Station 19" back in January.

The Season 19 finale of "Grey's Anatomy" will air on May 18. The show has seen a number of exits this season, most notably Vernoff and Kelly McCreary (who's played Dr Maggie Pierce for nine seasons) and series lead Ellen Pompeo.

Along with Pompeo, the Season 19 cast of "Grey's Anatomy" also includes Chandra Wilson, James Pickens, Jr., Kevin McKidd, Caterina Scorsone, Camilla Luddington, Kelly McCreary, Kim Raver, Jake Borelli, Chris Carmack, Anthony Hill, Alexis Floyd, Harry Shum Jr., Adelaide Kane, Midori Francis, Niko Terho, and Scott Speedman.

Marinis has been with "Grey's Anatomy" since Season 3, working as a writer's production assistant. She worked her way up from there, becoming an executive producer in Season 15. She has written more than 25 episodes of the series to date.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.