Manik Sarkar, Badal Chowdhury will not contest Tripura Assembly poll

Left Front releases list of candidates and allots 13 seats to the Congress, its coalition partner for the first time in the State elections

Updated - January 26, 2023 10:46 am IST

Published - January 25, 2023 10:09 pm IST - Agartala

Former CM and opposition leader Manik Sarkar. File

Former CM and opposition leader Manik Sarkar. File | Photo Credit: PTI

Manik Sarkar, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) Polit Bureau member and Chief Minister for 20 years, will not contest in the Tripura Assembly elections due on February 16. The party also dropped veteran leader and former Minister Badal Choudhury owing to health considerations.

Senior leaders of the State’s Left Front constituents as well as the CPI(M) released a list of 47 candidates here on Wednesday evening. The Left Front has allotted 13 seats to the Congress, which for the first time will be its coalition partner in the Assembly election.

The Congress is expected to announce its list of candidates tomorrow. Differences had earlier cropped up between the CPI(M) and the Congress over seat sharing arithmetic, forcing the cancellation of a scheduled press conference here on Tuesday.

CPI(M) State secretary Jitendra Chowdhury will contest from Sabroom constituency in south Tripura, an unreserved general seat.

Left Front leaders addressed a press conference and said a total of eight legislators who won in the 2018 Assembly election had not been nominated. They are Manik Sarkar, Badal Chowdhury, Bhanu Lal Saha, Tapan Chakraborty, Narayan Chowdhury, Jashbir Tripura and Mabasar Ali.

The CPI(M) negotiated for Mr. Ali’s constituency, Kailashahar in north Tripura, with the Congress. Pradesh Congress Committee president Birajit Sinha, who lost to Mr. Ali in 2018, is the likely candidate of the opposition alliance this time.

Of the 47 seats of the Left Front, the CPI(M) will put up candidates in 43, the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) in one, the Communist Party of India (CPI) in one, the Forward Bloc in one, and there will be one Independent candidate — lawyer and human rights activist Pururshottam Roy Barman, who has been nominated in the prestigious Ramnagar constituency of the State capital. 

The Congress will contest in two and the Left Front in 18 out of 20 seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes. 

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.