Modi, Rahul, Sonia ahead in UP, Ajit, Kejriwal, Mulayam trailing

May 16, 2014 10:28 am | Updated May 23, 2016 06:29 pm IST - Lucknow

BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is ahead by 4,711 votes in Varanasi while Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi is leading by 1,912 votes over his nearest rival BJP’s Smriti Irani in Amethi after first round of counting of votes in Uttar Pradesh.

BJP was leading in 20 seats in the initial trends for 29 seats available in the politically crucial state followed by Samajwadi Party with five seats.

In Varanasi, AAP candidate Arvind Kejriwal is at second spot.

RLD Chief Ajit Singh is in third position in Baghpat where BJP’s Satyapal Singh, a former Mumbai Police Commissioner, is leading while Samajwadi Party’s Mulayam Singh Yadav is in the second spot in Azamgarh where BJP’s Ramakant Yadav is ahead.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi was leading in Rae Bareli.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.