Mizoram Assembly elections 2018 results: MNF bounces back to power, Congress loses last bastion in Northeast

December 11, 2018 07:21 pm | Updated 07:48 pm IST - Aizawl

Mizo National Front (MNF) workers hold their party flag as they celebrate the party's victory in the State Assembly elections, at Party head office, in Aizawl on December 11, 2018.

Mizo National Front (MNF) workers hold their party flag as they celebrate the party's victory in the State Assembly elections, at Party head office, in Aizawl on December 11, 2018.

The Mizo National Front (MNF) on Tuesday scripted a spectacular victory in Mizoram, uprooting the Congress in its last bastion in the Northeast to return to power after 10 years.

The MNF won 26 seats in the 40-member Assembly, a gain of 21 seats since 2013. The Congress managed to bag only five seats compared to 34 seats it won in the 2013 Assembly elections.

No party in the State has so far been able to form government thrice in a row since 1987 when Mizoram became a full-fledged State.

Outgoing Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla suffered defeats from both the seats he contested, including his home turf Serchip. He also lost from Champai South constituency.

The MNF, previously an underground outfit, had signed the Mizo Accord in 1986 with the Central government renouncing secession and violence and its leader Laldenga became the Chief Minister.

The MNF led by Zoramthanga, a former underground, had won the Assembly elections in 1998 and 2003.

It is now a constituent of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA), formed by the BJP.

MNF bags 37.6% votes

The MNF bagged 37.6 % votes as against 30.2 % secured by the Congress.

The BJP opened its account in the Christian-dominated State as the party candidate and former Minister Buddha Dhan Chakma won from the Chakma-dominated Tuichawng seat in south Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district.

Mr. Chakma had resigned from the Congress.

The BJP, which fielded 39 candidates, secured 8% votes.

Mr. Lal Thanhawla met Governor K. Rajasekharan and submitted his resignation, official sources said.

The MNF at a meeting of its newly-elected legislators unanimously elected Mr. Zoramthanga as the leader of the MNF legislature party.

The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), a conglomerate of two political parties — the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) and Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) captured eight seats.

The ZPM’s performance was commendable as they bagged 22.9 % votes.

Key candidates

Former Mizoram Assembly speaker Hiphei who resigned from the Congress and contested as a BJP nominee lost from Palak constituency.

Former Mizoram Home Minister R. Lalzirliana who defected from the Congress to the MNF won from Tawi seat.

Another former Congress leader and Health Minister Lalrinliana Sailo won Chalfith seat as a MNF candidate.

F. Lalnunmawia of the MNF defeated agriculture minister K.S. Thanga by a margin of 2,037 votes in Aizawl South-III seat.

Another former Assembly speaker, Lalchamliana of the MNF, defeated the Cooperation Minister Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu in Hrangturzo seat, while Lalrinawma of the MNF retained the Tuikum seat by defeating SangzelaTlau of the Lalruatkima of the MNF also retained their seats, Siaha and Aizawl West-II, respectively.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.