Mizoram 2018

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018: Key candidates

The biggest setback was for Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who finished third in the Champhai South seat.   | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Lal Thanhawla, Indian National Congress

The incumbent Chief Minister is currently serving his fifth term. Mr. Thanhawla lost from both constituencies – his home turf Serchhip and Champai south. The three-time Chief Minister, Mr. Thanhawla has been an MLA nine times since 1978 and declared his age as 80 in his latest election affidavit.

Congress under his leadership had won 32 seats in 2008 and 34 in 2013. Mizoram is the only State in the Northeast where the Congress is in power.

Lalduhoma, Zoram Nationalist Party

The founder of the Zoram Nationalist Party, Mr. Lalduhoma contested and from the seats of Serchhip and Aizawl West (i). The ZNP is part of the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) alliance. He defeated the Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla in Serchhip and won by 410 votes.




Vanlalhlana, PRISM

The president of the People’s Right to Information and Development Implementation Society of Mizoram (PRISM) party,  who contested from three seats and won Aizawl North (ii),  lost against MNF candidate Lalringliana in Aizawl North (i), and came last in Serchhip, even behind NOTA. 

The group, with Mr. Vanlalruata as president, renamed itself People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram to retain the abbreviated form — PRISM — that people were acquainted with.

Zoramthanga, Mizo National Front




Served as the Chief Minister for two consecutive terms from 1998 to 2008. He contested and won from Aizawl East (i).  In pre-poll campaigns Zoramthanga was very clear about his stand on the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, and he said, " We oppose the bill because it challenges the secular fabric of the country." The party is however in partership with BJP-helmed NEDA  (New Economic Development Policy). 


This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 18, 2021 9:32:39 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/mizoram-assembly-elections-2018/mizoram-assembly-elections-2018-key-candidates/article25717412.ece

Next Story