Manipur 2017

Manipur: Key winners and losers

Okram Ibobi Singh

Okram Ibobi Singh

Manipur has delivered a hung Assembly with the Congress emerging as the single largest party.


4.30 p.m.:

Former Congress Minister and BJP candidate from Heingang Assembly seat N. Biren Singh wins by a margin of 1206 votes.

3 p.m.: Sapam R. Singh of BJP wins from Konthoujam Assembly seat by a margin of 2,772 votes and Heikham Dingo Singh wins from Sekmai constituency by 2,532 votes. In Kangpokpi, Nemcha Kipgen of the BJP wins by a margin of 2,297 votes.

2.25 p.m.: In Nambol, T.H.  Chaoba, a former BJP State president loses to Congress.

11.50 a.m.: Irom Sharmila loses to CM.

11.14 a.m.: Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh wins Thoubal Assembly constituency by over 8,000 votes - PTI

10.21 a.m.:

Manipur - Thoubal
Counting In Progress
OKRAM IBOBI SINGHIndian National Congress15804
LEITANTHEM BASANTA SINGHBharatiya Janata Party7524
LEISHANGTHEM SURESH SINGHAll India Trinamool Congress142
IROM SHARMILA CHANUPeoples Resurgence and Justice Alliance85
None of the AboveNone of the Above120

Source: EC

9.49 a.m.: Irom Sharmila of PRJA is trailing in Thoubal by securing just 26 votes

9.26 a.m.: Manipur Chief Minister O. Ibobi Singh is leading over Leitanthem Basanta Singh (BJP) in Thoubal. Rights activist Irom Sharmila (PRJA) is trailing.


Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 18, 2022 1:32:41 pm |