Lok Sabha Election

Congress-JD(S) reach seat-sharing pact in Karnataka

Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy with Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Delhi on August 30, 2018. Photo: Special Arrangement  


The wrangling over seat-sharing between Karnataka’s ruling coalition partners — the Janata Dal (Secular) and the Congress — has finally came to an end with the Congress agreeing to cede eight of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in the State to JD(S), including the Tumakuru seat that it holds.

The deal has been finalised in Kochi after talks between Congress president Rahul Gandhi and JD(S) General Secretary Danish Ali.

As per the deal, JD(S) gets Hassan, Mandya, Bengaluru North, Udupi-Chikamagalur, Vijayapura and Uttara Kannada. The party also gets to contest from Shivamogga, which the Congress had ceded to JD(S) in the recently bypolls. Currently, Tumakuru seat is represented by Congress leader S.P. Muddahanume Gowda, while JD(S) represents Hassan and Mandya.


Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 19, 2020 12:49:53 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/elections/lok-sabha-2019/congress-jds-reach-seat-sharing-pact-in-karnataka/article26523745.ece

Next Story