Bellwethers: Assembly seats which reflect overall election winners

December 14, 2018 11:53 am | Updated 11:53 am IST

Sachin Pilot campaigning ahead of the 2018 Assembly election in Tonk, Rajasthan

Sachin Pilot campaigning ahead of the 2018 Assembly election in Tonk, Rajasthan

Only a few seats in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh voted consecutively in the last five Assembly elections or more for the party that went on to win the State.

Begun and Mandal in Rajasthan set the tone for 10 elections by voting for parties that triumphed at the State level. In Begun, the Indian National Congress won a narrow victory over BJP (1,661 votes) in the Assembly election 2018. In Mandal, a tight contest was on between the Congress and an independent candidate (margin: 8,065 votes).


Meanwhile, the party that won in Khargone in southern Madhya Pradesh has gone on to win the State in the last 12 elections. The Congress won the seat by a margin of 9,512 votes.


(The writer works for Gramener, a data science company.)


Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.