Rae bareli Lok Sabha Constituency

Current MP
Sonia Gandhi
Constituency Type
No of Assembly Constituencies
Polling Date
May 20, 2024
Voter turnout
2019 - 56.34%| 2014 - 51.73%| 2009 - 48.33%

One of the Nehru-Gandhi bastions, Rae Bareli covers five State constituencies - Bachhrawan, Harchandpur, Rae Bareli, Sareni, and Unchahar. Since its inception till date, Congress has held this seat, barring three elections. In 1977, Indira Gandhi lost her election to socialist leader Raj Narain and BJP’s Ashok Singh emerged victorious in 1996 and 1999. The Gandhis who have represented Rae Bareli are Feroze Gandhi (1952, 1957), Indira Gandhi (1967, 1971), Arun Nehru (1980, 1984), and Sonia Gandhi (2004, 2006, 2009, 2014, 2019). Rae Bareli will be a keenly watched seat as Ms. Sonia has backed out from contesting this year.


INC won 3 times since 2009 elections.

2019INC 55.8%BJP 38.36%
2014INC 63.8%BJP 21.05%
2009INC 72.23%BSP 16.4%

Lok Sabha Elections

MahindraRausTH Elections
MahindraRausTH Elections


Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in