Phulpur Lok Sabha Constituency

Current MP
Keshari Devi Patel
Constituency Type
No of Assembly Constituencies
Polling Date
May 25, 2024
Voter turnout
2019 - 48.7%| 2014 - 50.19%| 2009 - 38.69%

The Phulpur Lok Sabha constituency has played a significant role in India’s electoral history. The very first General elections in 1952 from Phulpur, gave the country its first democratically elected Prime Minister – Jawaharlal Nehru. Nehru went on to win the seat again in 1957 and 1962. Nehru’s sister, Vijay Lakshmi Pandit took over the seat for Congress in 1964 and 1967. Then in 1971, on a Congress ticket, V.P. Singh emerged victorious. From 1996 till 2009, Samajwadi Party maintained a stronghold on the seat, which included gangster-turned politician Atique Ahmed’s stint from 2004. It was only in 2014 that the BJP first won the Phulpur seat, with Keshav Prasad maurya polling 52.44% votes. A 2018 bypoll handed the seat to Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel, but an year later the BJP’s Keshari Devi Patel snatched the seat back with 55.68% votes.


BJP won 2 times and BSP won 1 times since 2009 elections.

2019BJP 55.68%SP 38.1%
2014BJP 52.44%SP 20.33%
2009BSP 30.36%SP 27.72%

Lok Sabha Elections

MahindraRausTH Elections
MahindraRausTH Elections


Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in