Amethi Lok Sabha Constituency

Current MP
Smriti Irani
Constituency Type
No of Assembly Constituencies
Polling Date
May 20, 2024
Voter turnout
2019 - 54.08%| 2014 - 52.38%| 2009 - 45.16%

Created in 1967, the Amethi Lok Sabha constituency cover four State constituencies — Amethi, Tili, Jagdishpur, Gauriganj, and Tiloi. Since its inception to 2019, Congress has almost always won in Amethi— barring two instances. In the 1977 elections the Janata Party’s Ravindra Pratap Singh trounced Gandhi scion Sanjay Gandhi, who was facing ire due to actions during the Indira Gandhi-imposed Emergency, and in 1998, BJP’s Satish Sharma defeated incumbent Congress MP Satish Sharma. The Gandhis who have represented Amethi are Sanjay Gandhi (1980), Rajiv Gandhi (1981,1984, 1989, 1991), Sonia Gandhi (1998), Rahul Gandhi (2004, 2009, 2014). In 2019, BJP’s Smriti Irani emerged victorious over Mr. Gandhi, defeating him by a margin of 55,120 votes – ending the clan’s iron hold over Amethi. Previously, BJP’s Sanjaya Sinha had eeked out a slim victory over Congress’ Satish Sharma in 1998 by a margin of 23,270 votes. But no Gandhi had been on the poll ballot then.


BJP won 1 times and INC won 2 times since 2009 elections.

2019BJP 49.71%INC 43.86%
2014INC 46.72%BJP 34.39%
2009INC 71.78%BSP 14.54%

Lok Sabha Elections

MahindraRausTH Elections
MahindraRausTH Elections


Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in