Belgaum Lok Sabha Constituency

Current MP
Angadi Suresh Channabasappa
Constituency Type
No of Assembly Constituencies
Polling Date
May 7, 2024
Voter turnout
2019 - 67.84%| 2014 - 68.22%| 2009 - 54.75%

Belagavi is one of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka, India. It comprises eight legislative assembly segments, five of which are held by Congress MLAs. The segment sees a strong influence of the Jarkiholi brothers of Gokak, or Sahukars as they are known. Of the brothers, while Ramesh Jarkiholi and Balachandra Jarkiholi are with the BJP, Satish Jarkiholi is a Minister in the Congress government. The Lingayats are a dominant community in the constituency with immense political clout. Kunda is a famous sweet native to this constituency. The region is also home to the Saundatti Yellamma Temple, a famous pilgrimage centre whose deity Yellamma or Renuka is revered as the goddess of fertility.


BJP won 3 times since 2009 elections.

2019BJP 63.22%INC 30.76%
2014BJP 51.4%INC 44.37%
2009BJP 50.93%INC 35.2%

Lok Sabha Elections

MahindraRausTH Elections
MahindraRausTH Elections


Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in