Intra-state e-way bill system to roll out in 5 more states from April 25

It will become applicable for Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Puducherry.

April 23, 2018 06:31 pm | Updated 06:31 pm IST

NEW DELHI: In keeping with its plan to roll out the e-way bill system for the intra-state transport of goods in a phased manner, the GST Council, on Monday, announced the third phase, from April 25, in which the system will become applicable for Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Puducherry.

While the e-way bill system is applicable across the country for the inter-state transport of goods, it is so far applicable for intra-state transport in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh.

“E-way bills are getting generated successfully and till April 22, 2018, more than 1.84 crore e-way bills have been successfully generated which includes more than 22 lakh e-way bills for the intra-state movement of goods,” the government said in a release.

“With the roll-out of e-way bill system in these states/union territory, it is expected that trade and industry will be further facilitated insofar as the transport of goods is concerned, thereby eventually paving the way for a nation-wide single e- way bill system,” the government added.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.