Coal ministry de-allocates eight coal blocks

The Ministry of Coal has issued de-allocation letters for eight coal blocks after decision by the Inter-Ministerial Group.

“Government has issued letters for at least eight coal blocks given to a single company or jointly,” ministry sources told PTI.

Among companies affected by the de-allocation were Grasim Industries, Gujarat Ambuja Cement, Lafarge, Electrotherm and Kesoram Industries.

Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal has said the process to de-allocate 13 blocks was underway.

The blocks were de-allocated by the government as they were not developed within a stipulated timeframe and for which satisfactory explanations were not given.

The blocks de-allocated were Bhaskarpara allocated to Electrotherm India and Grasim Industries.

The Durgapur-II/Sariya block was allocated to B D Power, Dahegaon and Makardhokra-IV block was jointly allocated to IST Steel & Power, Gujarat Ambuja Cement and Lafarge India.

The Gondkhari block was for Maharashtra Seamless, Dhariwal Infra (P) Ltd and Kersoram Industries.

The Marki Mangli II, III and IV blocks were meant for Virangana Steel and Chinora and Warora (West) for Fieldmining and Ispat.

Ramanwara North block in Madhya Pradesh was allocated to SKS Ispat and Power and Nered Malegoan block was given to Gupta Metallics and Gupta Coal.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 29, 2021 4:08:22 AM |

Next Story