Other Sports

Who else but Petroleum?

NO STOPPING THEM: The men's, women's and youth teams of PSPB after winning the all-India inter-institutional table tennis team championship in New Delhi on Tuesday. Photo: S. Subramanium   | Photo Credit: S_Subramanium


The predictable happened in quick time with Petroleum completing its annual ritual of winning the team titles in the inter-institutional table tennis championship on Tuesday. .

At the Thygaraj Indoor Stadium here, Petroleum repeated its last year’s triumphs over Railways men and Airports Authority of India (AAI) women in the title clashes to continue its domination.

Petroleum men — Soumyajit Ghosh, national champion Sanil Shetty and Harmeet Desai — won in turns to complete a 3-0 rout of Railways. The title was Petroleum’s 12th in succession.

In the women’s section too, the script was no different. The trio of Madhurika Patkar, national champion Ankita Das and Poulomi Ghatak made it 11 on the trot for Petroleum.

In the men’s final, only Anirban Nandi held out some hopes for Railways but against a confident Ghosh, he looked good only in patches.

Earlier, the women’s final produced some anxious moments for Petroleum but the result was never in doubt with Madhurika and Poulomi repeating their last year’s 3-1 victories over Nikhat Bhanu and Kritwikka Sinha Roy, respectively.

The results (team championships finals): Men: Petroleum bt Railways 3-0 (Soumyajit Ghosh bt Anirban Nandi 11-6, 11-8, 11-9; Sanil Shetty bt Souvik Kar 11-4, 12-14, 11-8, 11-7; Harmeet Desai bt Noel Pinto 11-8, 11-3, 11-9).

Women: Petroleum bt Airports Authority of India 3-0 (Madhurika Patkar bt Nikhat Bhanu 3-11, 11-5, 11-6, 11-8, Ankita Das bt Kritwikka Sinha Roy 11-8, 9-11, 12-10, 11-7, Poulomi Ghatak bt Amrutha Pushpak 12-14, 11-3, 13-11, 11-8).

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 24, 2017 10:00:21 AM | http://www.thehindu.com/sport/other-sports/who-else-but-petroleum-in-airports-authority-of-india-table-tennis-championship/article6332483.ece