The Tour de India 2013 has been listed in the international race calendar of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) and the second edition of the multi-city event will witness the participation of more than 150 foreign and national cyclists.

The races are scheduled to take place on December 15th, 17th and 22nd in Mumbai, Jaipur and Delhi, respectively.

The Delhi chapter of the event will take place at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) track in Greater Noida.

The event will have six Indian teams — India ‘A’, ‘B’, Railways, Services and two cycling clubs.

The Cycling Federation of India (CFI) will select the six teams for Tour de India after the conclusion of their national camp in Delhi.

“Tour de India is a 1.2 level event of the UCI, the sport’s world governing body, which has listed the event for the first time in their international calendar. The total prize money for the second edition is euro 19,000 and India will be represented by six teams in the prestigious event,” CFI secretary-general Onkar Singh said.

“This edition will also have participation from 10 foreign teams and the points earned from this event will be added to Tour rankings. The earlier UCI-recognised event held in India was the Tour de Delhi — Cyclothon 2010 (1.1 level),” added Mr. Singh.

More In: Other Sports | Sport