Team MRF heads into this weekend’s China rally in Longyou on November 2 and 3, perfectly placed to win all three Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) titles.

Gaurav Gill, currently holds a 13.5 point Drivers’ title lead, and Team MRF is also on track to win the Manufacturers and Teams’ Cup awards respectively. A strong finish in China could also see Gill’s Finnish teammate Esapekka Lappi move up to second in the championship. A total of 102 vehicles will take part in the 652km race over 13 competitive stages. Gaurav Gill with victories at Rallye de Nouvelle-Calédonie in New Zealand and Rally Hokkaido in Japan is currently leading the Drivers’ title race with 117.5 points.

Gill, with Australian co-driver, Glenn Macneall, only has to finish the rally to secure his first APRC title. Weather conditions for the event are expected to be fine, with temperatures in the 15 to 23 degree range. Neither of the Team MRF drivers has won the event before, with this being Lappi’s first visit to the rally.

Championship positions (after round 5 of 6 rounds): Overall Drivers: 1. Gaurav Gill 117.5; 2. Sanjay Takale 104; 3. Michael Young 92; 4. Esapekka Lappi 78; 5. Hiroshi Asakura 53. Overall co-drivers: 1. Glenn Macneall 117.5; 2. Sean Gregory 104; 3. Janne Ferm 78; 4. Malcolm Read 64; 5. Takumi Takahashi 30; 6. Daniel Willson 28; 7. Osamu Yoda 23.

Keywords: Team MRFChina rally

More In: Other Sports | Sport