A 20-foot eagle putt on the 18th hole clinches it

Anirban Lahiri holed a sensational 20-foot eagle putt on the 18th hole to grab his fourth Asian Tour title and the first outside India at the CIMB Indonesian Masters golf here on Sunday.

Lahiri fought back from a double bogey on 13th as he leapfrogged from second place to go past clubhouse leader Baek Seuk-Hyun of Korea (65), who finished at 16-under.

Lahiri (68) finished at 17-under after rounds of 70, 69, 64 and 68 and was one shot clear of Baek and Cameron Smith (70).

The Indian, ranked 102 in the world at the start of the week, should move inside the top-75 when the new rankings are released on Monday. He is currently the top Indian in the world rankings and will also move to the top of the Asian Tour Order of Merit.

It was Lahiri’s fourth win and he has now won every year since 2011 and the only Indians with more Asian Tour wins than him are Jyoti Randhawa (8), Arjun Atwal (7), Jeev Milkha Singh (6) and Gaganjeet Bhullar (5).

It has been a series of consistent performances from Lahiri, who was tied eighth at SAIL-SBI Open and then tied 10th at Maybank Malaysian Open.

He also won two points for Team Asia last month at the inaugural EurAsia Cup, including a singles win over World top-30 player Victor Dubuisson of France.

Great outing

Making it a great outing for Indian golf were S.S.P. Chowrasia (68), who was in contention for a short while before ending tied fifth at 14-under and Rashid Khan (71), who won his maiden Asian Tour title last month at SAIL-SBI Open, had a topsy-turvy day with five birdies and four bogeys and finished tied ninth at 13-under.

Jyoti Randhawa (70) was also looking at a long shot as he found five birdies in a space of six holes between fifth and 10th, but then three bogeys between 11th and 14th ended his hopes and he finished in a tie for 13th.

Rahil Gangjee (70) was tied 22nd and Arjun Atwal, who had one eagle on the 18th and a birdie on the sixth ended tied 39th.

The results: Anirban Lahiri 271 (70, 69, 64, 68); Baek Seuk-hyun 272 (71, 68, 68, 65); Cameron Smith (68, 67, 67, 70); 273 Kiradech Aphibarnrat (71, 69, 65, 68); Thongchai Jaidee (71, 72, 67, 64).

Other Indians: S.S.P. Chowrasia 274 (71, 66, 69, 68); Rashid KHAN 275 (70, 70, 64, 71); Jyoti Randhawa 277 (72, 68, 67, 70); Rahil Gangjee 282 (70, 70, 72, 70); Arjun ATWAL 286 (70, 74, 73, 69); Sujjan Singh 297 (68, 74, 80, 75).

More In: Other Sports | Sport