Oil & Natural Gas Corporation (Uttarakhand) doused the ambitions of Indian Overseas Bank (Chennai) 60-53 and successfully defended the men’s title in style at the 28th Federation Cup basketball championships here on Thursday.

ONGC’s immaculate defensive work, Vishesh Bhriguvanshi’s steals and breakaways and Amritpal Singh’s shooting skills helped the defending champion assert its supremacy.

IOB playmakers Sivabalan (12) and Pratham Singh (16) were forced to get into scoring positions and assist the team offence as its forwards were kept in check.

Amjyot Singh chipped in with nine points.

Chhattisgarh’s Poonam Chaturvedi with 30 points towered over Maharashtra in every sense, as her team sneaked home in the women’s final 77-76.

Maharashtra’s dogged defending and all-out offence kept it within striking distance, though the absence of quality bench strength gave Chhattisgarh the edge.

Poonam dazzles

Poonam was beyond reach under the offensive board despite the valiant efforts of Shirin Limaye to hook the ball out of reach.

Anju Lakra (14) and Pushpa (17) capitalised on a rival defence distracted by Poonam’s presence to ensure the heat was on the rivals.

Maharashtra clawed back in the fourth quarter. Renu Mourya (16) ran herself ragged in the first two quarters, Smruthi Radhakrishnan (17) popped up for points under the rival board while Manisha Dange (19) fired from wide positions to end up as highest scorer for the loser.

The results:

Men: Final: ONGC 60 (Amritpal Singh 24, Vishesh Bhriguvanshi 12, Yadwinder Singh 12) bt IOB 53 (Pratham Singh 16, Sivabalan 12, Amjyot Singh 9).

Third place: Army Red 72 (Mayur Bhat 17, Gopal Ram 12, Anthony Nixon 11) bt Border Security Force (Punjab) (Vinod Kumar 13, Davinder Hooda 10) 48.

Women: Final: Chhattisgarh 77 (Poonam Chaturvedi 30, Anju Lakra 15, Pushpa 17) bt Maharashtra 76 (Manisha Dange 19, Smruthi Radhakrishnan 17, Renu Mourya 16, Shirin Limaye 15).

Third place: Kerala 58 (Merlin Baby 14, Surya 14, Stephy Nixon 13) bt Delhi 43 (Madhu Kumari 21, Sarvanta Kumari 11).

Most Valuable Players: Vishesh Bhriguvanshi and Smruthi Radhakrishnan.

More In: Other Sports | Sport