Two-time champion Suresh Rana of Team Maruti retained his title in the six-day Rally Xtreme of the 11th Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm which finished in Jaipur on Saturday.

Rana, who drove a Grand Vitara, won 12 of the 13 competitive stages in the race and finished 29 minutes and 33 seconds ahead of the pack. Chandigarh’s Sunny Sidhu finished second, followed by Lohit Urs in third place.

Overall, Team Maruti earned 70 per cent of the prizes from all categories and its drivers won the Rally Ndure and Xplore events too.

Somdev Chanda drove a Maruti Gypsy to win the Ndure race by three minutes, ahead of teammates Jagmeet Gill and Parth Beniwal.

In the Xplore competition, Sanjay Takale of Team Maruti beat Satish Gopalkrishnan to the title and Rajesh Chalana finished third.

Elsewhere the Xtreme Quad event was won by Raj Singh Rathore, who also set the fastest stage timings. Brandon Glissmeyer, who drove a Polaris RZR 800 like Rathore, came second.

However, Vijay Parmar, who had led the Xtreme Moto race for the first five days, had a poor final outing as he finished 27 seconds behind winner Mohit Verma in second place. Parmar lost his advantage after he fell from his bike in the last stage.

More In: Motorsport | Sport