The fifth and final round of the MMSC-Sidvin FMSCI Indian National motorcycle racing championship will be held at MMRT (Irrungattukottai) during the weekend.

The championship will see leading manufacturers Honda, Yamaha & TVS in the fray.

In the Group D unmodified class upto 130cc bikes, Jalgaon’s Kamlesh Thakur of Team Sparks Racing had already clinched the title in the fourth round, but the race for the second spot is on. T

The team championship will also go down to the wire with Sparks Racing and TVS on 94 and 91 points respectively.

In the Group D unmodified class upto 165cc, Ramesh Kumar of Team MotoRev leads his nearest rival, Bangalore’s Sandesh of Bangalore Performance Racing, by seven points with Arun Muthukrishnan close behind.

In Group C upto 165cc, MotoRev’s Shyam Shankar needs just a point to win the championship while Sumit Lucas Toppo and Dinesh Kumar are in a close battle for the second spot. In the premier category, the CBR 250cc class, Team MotoRev will have its three riders — A. Prabhu, M. Gautham and Dinesh Kumar — battling it out for honours.

While Shyam Shankar of Chennai has already clinched the Yamaha MMSC One Make championship YZF R15 open category in the novice category for the YZF R15, P. Sandesh (Bangalore) is tied on points with R. Ramesh Kumar of Chennai going into the final round.

In the TVS MMSC One Make championship novice category for the Apache RTR180cc, 10 points separate the top three of Abdul Wahab, M.D. Intekhab Alam and Rahul G. Rathod.

In the Apache RTR180CC open category, P. Ananth looks the favourite as he leads Rajesh Rathinakumar by nine points.


National Motorcycle racing from June 1 May 30, 2012

More In: Motorsport | Sport