Two last-gasp goals helped Mumbai snatch a draw against Karnataka on the opening day of the 64th Senior National hockey championship for the Rangaswamy Cup here at the KSHA Stadium on Wednesday.

Down 0-2 at half-time, a disjointed Mumbai side appeared down and out. Against the run of play, in the 55th minute, winger Joshua Vessoakar drove the ball into the penalty area.

Ravi Pareek, who was left unmarked at the edge of the ‘D’, went down on one knee and extended his stick in search of a deflection. The ball found the sweet-spot, and thundered into the goal. Vicko Singh, the captain, scored the equaliser, and wild celebrations ensued.

Earlier, Karnataka’s captain Deepak Bejiwad displayed brutal efficiency to convert two penalty corners. The first goal was scored in the 26th minute, with Bejiwad beating the advancing defenders and goalkeeper by slotting the ball into the bottom corner.

Six minutes later, Bejiwad found the top corner of the goal with ease to put his team two goals ahead.

The results:

Karnataka 2 (Deepak Bejiwad 2) drew with Mumbai 2 (Ravi Pareek, Victo Singh).

More In: Hockey | Sport