Hockey India (HI) on Tuesday named 48 probables for the Indian men’s hockey team, which is scheduled to take part in the Lanco International Super Series and 34th Men’s FIH Champions Trophy to be held in Australia later this year.

The probables will start training at the SAI Centre at the Netaji Subash National Institute of Sports in Patiala from October 15.

Interestingly, HI also included some players, who were part of the rival World Series Hockey (WSH), as standbyes.

HI selectors Col. Balbir Singh, B P Govinda and Syed Ali along with Government Observer Harbinder Singh selected the 48 probables on the basis of their performance in the recent second Hockey India Senior Men’s National Championship in Bangalore.

The Indian hockey team, which last competed in the London Olympics where it finished at the bottom, will be keen to put up a better show when it competes in the Lanco International Super Series at Perth from November 22 to 25.

The tournament will also feature the likes of England, Australia and Pakistan.

This will be followed by Champions Trophy at the State Netball Hockey Centre in Melbourne from December 1 to 9, featuring hosts Australia, Belgium, England, Germany, The Netherlands, New Zealand and Pakistan, apart from India.

The probables:

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri (Kar), PR Sreejesh (TN), PT Rao (Ser), Tarun Thimmanna (Kar), Srenivas Rao (AP). Fullbacks: VR Raghunath (Kar), Ignace Tirkey (Ser), Sandeep Singh (Har), Rupinderpal Singh (TN), Harbir Singh (Pun), Lovedeep Singh (Chan). Half backs: Sardar Singh (Har), Kothajit Singh (Man), Birendra Lakra (Jhar), Manpreet Singh (Pun), MB Aiyappa (Kar), Bipin Karketta (Ori), Pradeep Mor (Har), Gurmail Singh (Har), Amit Rohidas (Ori), Sampath Kumar Maylaram (AP), Shirish Bisen (UP), Barkat Singh (University), Vivek Dhar (Rlys), Jonny Jasrotia (Ser). Forwards: SV Sunil (Ser), Gurvinder Singh Chandi (Pun), Sarvanjit Singh (Pun), Chinglensana Singh (Rlys), Shivendra Singh (AI), Danish Mujtaba (UP), Tushar Khandker (UP), SK Uthappa (Kar), Pradhanna Sommanna (AI), Nithin Thimmaiah (Kar), Yuvraj Walmiki (Maha), Dharamvir Singh (Pun), Akashdeep Singh (Pun), MG Poonacha (Rlys), Prabhdeep Singh (Pun), PL Thimmanna (Kar), Sukhdev Singh (Ser), Lovepreet Singh (Ser), Sanjay Bir Singh (Rlys), Gurpreet Singh (University), Sanwan Ali (Ser), Vikramjit Singh (Pun), Karamjit Singh (Har).

Standbyes: Goalkeepers: Kamaldeep Singh (Pun), Gurpreet Singh (AI); Defenders: Gurjinder Singh (Pun), Harpreet Singh (Har); Midfielders: Manjit Kullu (Rlys), Ravi Pal (Pun), Vikas Sharma (UP), Vikas Pillai (AI), Devinder Valmiki (Maha).

More In: Hockey | Sport