UEFA has charged Arsenal striker Eduardo da Silva for “deceiving the referee” by appearing to dive to win a penalty in a Champions League victory over Celtic.
UEFA said that it had begun disciplinary proceedings that could lead to a two-match ban.
UEFA said: “Having studied video evidence of the incident in question, the UEFA disciplinary inspector decided to charge the player concerned. The UEFA Control and Disciplinary Body will examine the case on 1 September.”
After Eduardo’s opening goal, the Gunners went on to win 3-1 at the Emirates Stadium on Wednesday to secure a spot in the group stage. Arsenal won the first leg in Glasgow 2-0.