East Bengal won their sixth Federation Cup title with a 3-0 triumph over Lajong via penalties in an evenly contested final at the packed Nehru Stadium.

Newcomers Lajong did well to hold the big boys in Indian football to a goalless 120 minutes but the Shillong side couldn’t hold their nerves when it mattered the most in the penalties.

Lajong’s Anil Gurung, Samson Ramengmawia and Kyrshan Lyngshing failed to convert their spot-kicks.

Ghanian Yusuf Yakubu, Nirmal Chettri and Sanju Pradhan were on target for East Bengal while Harmanjot Khabra hit the woodwork as East Bengal also qualified for the AFC Cup, the second-tier club competition in the continent.

East Bengal enjoyed more ball possession in the first half and came close to score on quite a few occasions. But Lajong were equally good in their defence and goalkeeper Gumpe Rime’s heroics saw them drag the match beyond the regulation time.

The only chance that came Lajong’s way was in the 82nd minute when a clumsy free-kick clearance by East Bengal goalie Abhra Mondal found an unmarked Samson, but the striker wasted a precious second to squander the opportunity.

More In: Football | Sport