The Dutch semifinal victory over Uruguay on Tuesday assures Europe of a first World Cup football title at a tournament played outside its territory.

So far no team from the continent has achieved the feat outside Europe, but the jinx will end on Sunday when the Dutch face either Germany or Spain in the 2010 final.

The South Africa World Cup is the ninth of 19 overall held outside Europe.

Brazil won four editions, 1962 in Chile, 1970 in Mexico, 1994 in the United States and 2002 in Japan/South Korea. Argentina and Uruguay share two titles each: Uruguay 1930 at home and 1950 in Brazil, Argentina 1978 at home and 1986 in Mexico.

Meanwhile, Brazil’s 1958 title in Sweden is the only one won by a non-European team in Europe.

The other nine events on the Old Continent were all won by European teams.

Italy’s four titles came 1934 at home, 1938 in France, 1982 in Spain and 2006 in Germany. West Germany got its treble 1954 in Switzerland, 1974 at home and 1990 in Italy. England and France won their respective home edition in 1966 and 1998, respectively.

Sunday’s final is the eighth overall between European teams.

More In: Football | Sport