India defeated Bangladesh by ten wickets in the second Test that concluded at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium here on Wednesday. The victory also signalled India’s 2-0 series triumph. Needing two runs for a victory in its second innings, India reached it without fuss though there was a touch of anti-climax as the win was pocketed through two byes. Earlier Zaheer Khan’s seven for 87 snuffed out the Bangladeshsecond innings. The host scored 312.

The scores.

Bangladesh – Ist innings: 233.

India – 1st innings: 544 for eight wkts., decl.

Bangladesh – 2nd innings: Tamim c Dhoni b Zaheer 151 (184b, 13x4,

3x6), I. Kayes c (sub) Karthik b Zaheer 5 (15b, 1x4), J. Siddiqui c

Dhoni b Zaheer 55 (143b, 5x4), Shahadat c (sub) Mishra b Harbahajan 40

(74b, 4x4, 1x6), M. Ashraful c Dhoni b Ojha 25 (65b, 2x4), Raqibul b

Zaheer 5 (23b), Shakib c Gambhir b Ojha 7 (6b, 1x6), Mushfiqur (not

out) 10 (26b, 2x4), Mahmudullah c Vijay b Zaheer 0 (2b), Shafiul b

Zaheer 0 (1b), Rubel b Zaheer 0 (3b). Extras (b-7, lb-5, w-2): 14.

Total (all out in 90.2 overs): 312.

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Kayes), 2-219 (Siddiqui), 3-222 (Tamim), 4-290

(Shahadat), 5-291 (Ashraful), 6-301 (Shakib), 7-304 (Raqibul), 8-304

(Mahmudullah), 9-304 (Shafiul).

India bowling: Zaheer 20.2-2-87-7, Ishant 15-2-50-0, Harbhajan

26-7-75-1, Ojha 22-4-77-2, Sehwag 7-2-11-0.

India – 2nd innings: V. Sehwag (not out) 0 (2b), G. Gambhir (not out)

0 (0b). Extras (b-2): 2. Total (for no loss in 0.2 overs): 2.

Bangladesh bowling: Shakib 0.2-0-0-0.


Zaheer: I’m happy with my rhythmJanuary 27, 2010

Kirsten lauds TamimJanuary 26, 2010

Yuvraj doubtful for first SA TestJanuary 26, 2010

More In: Cricket | Sport