Sport » Cricket

Updated: September 21, 2010 02:50 IST

Tendulkar short-listed for three awards

Comment (9)   ·   print   ·   T  T  
Sachin Tendulkar has been shortlisted for Test Player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year and Cricketer of the Year. Photo: AP
Sachin Tendulkar has been shortlisted for Test Player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year and Cricketer of the Year. Photo: AP

Maestro Sachin Tendulkar and dashing opener Virender Sehwag of India, along with South African batsman Hashim Amla and England off-spinner Graeme Swann, have been short-listed for the top honours at the LG ICC Awards 2010.

The votes have now been cast by the independent 25-person academy and one of the four players will receive the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year at a glittering ceremony in Bangalore on October 6.

Tendulkar, Sehwag and Amla are also in the running for the Test Player of the Year award, alongside South Africa paceman Dale Steyn.

Tendulkar is in contention too for the ODI Player of the Year award with the Australian duo of Shane Watson (pace bowling all-rounder) and Ryan Harris (paceman) as well as South Africa's A.B. de Villiers (batsman).

The Twenty20 International Performance of the Year sees New Zealand's Brendon McCullum short-listed alongside Australia's Michael Hussey, Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene and South Africa's Ryan McLaren.

Player short-list (in alphabetical order): Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Graeme Swann (Eng), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Dale Steyn (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), A.B. de Villiers (SA), Shane Watson (Aus).

Emerging Player: Umar Akmal (Pak), Steven Finn (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL), Tim Paine (Aus).

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned), Trent Johnson (Ire), Kevin O'Brien (Ire), Mohammed Shahzad (Afg).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Michael Hussey (Aus) for his 60 not out off 24 balls against Pakistan in the semifinal of the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in St. Lucia on May 14, Mahela Jayawardene (SL) for his 100 off 64 balls against Zimbabwe in Guyana on May 3 and his 98 not out off 56 balls against West Indies in Bridgetown on May 2010 both during the ICC World Twenty20 2010, Ryan McLaren (SA) for his five for 19 against the West Indies on May 19 in Antigua, Brendon McCullum (NZ) for his 116 not out off 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch, New Zealand on February 28.

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Katherine Brunt (Eng), Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI).

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill, Simon Taufel.

Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe.

Keywords: ICC Awards 2010


Batting for India November 20, 2009

More In: Cricket | Sport

he deservs all awards
he is a jweel which made india rise head in sports

from:  nilesh ghorpade
Posted on: Sep 27, 2010 at 12:04 IST

its good to hear that sachin selected for three awards.i hope he gets three. tendulkar at his peak......

from:  geo george
Posted on: Sep 24, 2010 at 01:49 IST

No one deserves the award more than Sachin. Hope he will sweep all awards.

from:  prasanth
Posted on: Sep 21, 2010 at 18:22 IST

I wonder how Sachin has been nominated for the "ODI Player of the Year" award. If my memory serves me right he has only played one or two ODIs this year. Are the awards for year 2009?

from:  Rakith
Posted on: Sep 21, 2010 at 15:46 IST

The awards will be honoured by giving it to the batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar.Sachin will get the three titles without any doubt for his wonderful performance not only in the year 2010 but also for his 20 years performance.

from:  Radhakrishnan M
Posted on: Sep 21, 2010 at 15:30 IST

Please consider the award of ODI, TEST AND PLAYER OF YEAR on Maestro Sachin Tendulkar.

He is very good batsman. Perfect cricketer. 2009-10 more records holder. Highest individual score in ODI.

Posted on: Sep 21, 2010 at 14:16 IST

tendulkar deserves to be cricketer of the year. hat off to the master blaster

from:  dushyant tyagi
Posted on: Sep 20, 2010 at 22:40 IST

All the lists are close to perfection.
Clearly Sachin Tendulkar is the front runner for all the awards he has been nominated to.
Thanks to the knowledgeable panel, the choice can be made rather easily.
Looking forward to the announcement of Sachin as the overall Cricketer of the Year. He richly deserves this award.
These awards were constituted after the peak years of Sachin. Most fans like me atleast believed so. Sachin as usual dispelled these misgivings and produced a great year of scintillating performances.
If he retires without winning this coveted award, the awards would be the poorer. The Nobel committee will always be laughed at for not awarding Mahatma Gandhi the Nobel Prize for Peace. Let not ICC suffer from such ridicule for a similar mistake.

from:  K. Sreenivas Prasad
Posted on: Sep 20, 2010 at 20:40 IST

Maybe Sachin doesn't give too hoots about whether he wins one or none of the awards. But his die-hard fans like me will be praying hard that he makes a clean sweep and bags all the three. I'm excited!

from:  Hemant Gairola
Posted on: Sep 20, 2010 at 19:51 IST
Show all comments
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Cricket World Cup 2015 Fixtures
Cricket's most anticipated event is back. This time in Australia and New Zealand and spanning for nearly 50 days. Here's the list of scheduled matches with timings and venues.

Pages from the past Digging out some classic articles from our exhaustive archives.

That night...June 25, 1983

Field Marshal extraordinaire

Giving the boys their due

The fascinating journey with Lara

Salute to a great team in decline

Let us resolve...

It isn't cricket






Recent Article in Cricket

India opener Shikhar Dhawan plays a defensive stroke in a bid to get back into form during the ODI against England in Perth on Friday.

Perth ODI: England puts India in as Ishant, Rohit sit out

Rahane, Dhawan notch up India's first half-century opening partnership in the tri-series »